Search Party: Missed Connections

Did the person who wrote this show care about it?  I hope so.  Because I want to.

(Read a summary of the show somewhere else, catch up n00b.)

But a lot of other shows just lose plot coherence after a few seasons, and I’m not sure there’s enough hope left in my system to risk it.  The show’s themes are very cynical, and cynicism doesn’t lead to coherent long-term plots: cynicism is the belief that the world is incoherent.

I want to care after Season 1; I definitely cared during Season 1.  I want to be given a reason to, and am waiting to see if I will.

Living on the razor edge between caring and not caring seems to not only be the Millennial attitude, but in fact the Millennial condition of imprisonment, counterposed between the urgency of grueling recessionary survival and the nihilism of everything else.

I lean toward caring, even though that might be a mistake.

I can’t help but feel spontaneously involved in the world around me.

I want the world to cohere.

It’s been a cold universe where momentary, potential connections go by the wayside and are allowed to let slide instead of the things we do actually adding up to mean something.  Things haven’t cohered.

I want every wayward encounter and missed connection to eventually find its way together and have meaning.  I want things to cohere.

Such a thing would require a Jungian synchronicitous universe that reflects human meaning instead of only physical laws, or in other words a universe where something like God or at least an empowered collective unconscious exists — a universe where things come together because it means something to us.

This is rough for people with secular, scientific or cynical leanings, my own background included.

If God is omnipresent, ie in every person, then a person interacting with a person is God encountering God, and the vast webwork and network of relationships that constitute society is a hyper-encounter of God with itself.  Any story involving social media or missed connections cuts to the core of this.

I feel like my own prayer for God’s existence has the ability to bring it into being.  (Of course I’m already my own fulfillment of this; prayer as God is even heavier than that, like a solemn promise to yourself to fulfill a task, which the very act of promising somehow imperceptibly rearranges the chaotic circumstances of the world such that you have a better chance of keeping it.)

If we don’t live in a world where every missed connection finds its way back together, we must force them to, and there is no higher task.

But then Chantal didn’t even want to be found really.  (Or did she?)  So the missed connection was within Dory.  The missed connection is her life, which is to say naturally a symptom endemic of a system, the whole socio-politico-economic system.  Our entire civilization is a missed connection, sometimes between people but not in this case of the show, often instead a missed connection within individual people themselves, and just in general a missed connection between our civilization’s own existence and its own disgusting collective lack of meaning and purpose.

This can’t be shrugged off with nihilistic dismissal.  Meaning must be forged, and the will to do so must be forged.  This is an individual task as well as a world-historic one.  I hope someone behind the show actually gives a shit enough that things actually cohere powerfully instead of being another nice attempt or half-measure, which is not to say that’s what the first season was, more of a comment on modern culture in general — the first season correctly posed the problem.  Let’s see the solution.

Bring it.

And of course from my blog throne I have no direct control over what the show will do in its potentially non-existent Season 2.

Will I continue marching forward, crystallizing myself as the universal meaning and center, even if the show fucks up?

Obviously.

But it would suck.

This is a universal cry for help.

The fabric of matter itself is asking for your assistance.

Meaning must be forged — if not by the appointed authorities, then by vigilantes.

By me, mainly, as the final authority and ultimate vigilante of the universe.

But, like, I could use a hand?  Or two?

To return to the theme of the show: How bad would things have to get on someone’s social media profile before you actually took some kind of real-life action to intervene?

God is real.  He writes this blog.

And God needs help:

Yours.

No more diffusion of responsibility.

You have been designated by God.

Leave a Reply

